Wednesday Weigh-In, Halloween edition!

Image

(unedited) Mambas photo courtesy flickr

So I’m still sick, which sucks, but I’m getting better. Haven’t really done much of anything the last few days as a result, but I also haven’t been eating very much. This has resulted in a weigh-in of 243.4 today, but I will take zero credit for that weight loss since it’s mostly just from being sick.

That said, if I’m feeling up to it this afternoon I will begin the couch-to-5k program. Then we’ll spend the evening watching all the kids in the neighborhood trick or treating. Growing up I always loved Halloween, I think it may be my favorite holiday. Going vegan takes some of the awesome out of the holiday though, have to be honest. So many of my favorite candies aren’t vegan, and this makes me sad. Sure, there are vegan candies out there (a good list is available here from Veg For Life), but I miss things like Twix, M&Ms, Almond Joys, etc.

But since there ARE vegan friendly candies, that will be what we’re passing out this evening. And maybe eventually I’ll figure out some vegan recipes for some of my old favorites–but of course in our hyper-sensitive and hyper-paranoid society it would be pointless to pass out homemade candies to the neighborhood kids… That’s just like asking their parents to throw away the ingredients for me.

So what is your favorite vegan and non-vegan Halloween candy? For me the favorite non-vegan would have to be almond joys… Favorite vegan candy may be Mambas–possibly Twizzlers. But only the cherry/strawberry, can’t stand the dark Twizzlers.

Leave a Reply

