Going green

Feeling much better now, and will be FINALLY starting couch-to-5k today after work. I’m excited to get exercising, and I think it will really help my metabolism/weight loss. In that regard, I need all the help I can get because my metabolism kind of sucks, not going to lie.

Part of that is my own fault though; I’ve never been a breakfast person (only within the last year or so would I even go so far as to call myself any form of a “morning person”). I love breakfast foods, but not before like 11am. Any earlier than that and my body just says, “dude, not up yet, quit trying to put food in me.” It’s a problem I need to change, and right now the best way I can work in to change that is to jumpstart my days by going green–green smoothies, that is!

Not the most appealing looking substance, I’ll admit, but packed full of nutrition and other benefits… This one was made with a handful of baby spinach, a bunch of kale, two apples, and some vanilla soy milk. I don’t have one every morning, but I’m going to try to have one at least 3-4 times a week. Eventually maybe my body will be trained to expect a morning meal and it will become a daily thing.

Do you have a favorite green smoothie recipe? What about just a favorite (mostly healthful) breakfast? Post them up in the comments, I could always use more ideas for ways to get the day started.

One response

Leave a Reply

